6 Little Secrets of a Sleeping Baby

Alice Callahan, who writes the “Science of Mom” blog, digs through the research to separate good data from bad/shaky data, and get to the core of “the real scoop”. This piece from her blog about infant sleep is among the best I’ve read, and contains much that I wish every new parent would read and take to heart.

The Science of Mom

So, here we are, six posts and two months after my declaration that I would get to the bottom of this little issue of infant sleep. It shouldn’t have surprised me that it has taken me this long to begin to understand this topic. After all, it is a field with decades of research and thousands of published papers. If I was only interested in finding support for one side of the issue, I could have dug up a few papers in an hour or two and whipped something out, but I needed a more complete understanding – for myself, if for nobody else. My experience was quite beautifully summed up by a reader’s comment on my last post:

“…wide reviews of research (rather than simply focusing on the work of one or even a few researchers or studies) tend to show that dogmatism on many parenting issues is…

View original post 2,313 more words

Leave a Reply

